Rio 2016
122 days
Pyeongchang 2018
-431 days
Tokyo 2020
-1327 days
Diving became an Olympic sport at the Saint Louis games in 1904. At the time only men competed for the two titles given for the springboard and high dive, forms that confirmed the American Greg Louganis as one of the greatest Olympic champions of all time. He won twice, in 1984 and 1988.Before him, the Italian Klaus Dibiasi won three titles between 1968 and 1976 at Mexico, Munich and Montreal.Diving has been an Olympic women's sport since the 1920 Antwerp games. In both the springboard and high dive events American women collected most of the medals until the Chinese came on the scene in recent years, in particular Mingxia Fu who won her fourth consecutive gold in Sydney, which is an absolute record.It should be said that in Australia, a new discipline was included in the official competition: synchronised diving, for the high dive and the 3 m springboard. Two divers must carry out the same figure in the same pool and as artistically as possible.It should be remembered that diving is a discipline that requires courage, for it is difficult to vanquish ones fear of heights, even for the most hardy, especially when one considers that divers hit the water at 70 km/h. Fear of hitting the edge of the pool is also an obsession of divers.
Copyright Dicolympic - Contact - Conception WFHCustoms