Rio 2016
125 days
Pyeongchang 2018
-428 days
Tokyo 2020
-1324 days
Established in Paris on June 23rd 1894, on Pierre de Coubertin's initiative, the I.O.C. is the Olympic movement's governing body. Their authority is independent of any government interference, and headquarters are located in Lausanne, Switzerland.The I.O.C.'s role is to encourage and promote the development of sport, strengthen friendship between sportsmen and women and organise the celebration of the games every four years. I.O.C. members are selected by the organisation itself. Each country has one delegate, with the exception of the bigger nations, who may have more than one. To date, the I.O.C. has had seven presidents: the Greek Demetrius Vikelas, the Frenchman Pierre de Coubertin,: the Belgian Henri Baillet-Latour, the Swede Sigfried Edström, the American Avery Brundage, the Irishman Lord Killanin and Spaniard Juan Antonio Samaranch. The I.O.C. president is elected for a renewable eight year term.
Copyright Dicolympic - Contact - Conception WFHCustoms